Dancing Universe

violin, cello, piano (2016)

Duration: 6:00

Program Note

Dancing Universe, composed in honor of my parents who both passed away in 2015, quotes fragments of their favorite hymns in memorium. While composing, I was also reflecting on T.S. Eliot’s monumental poem Four Quartets, especially these passages:

And the bird called in response to
the unheard music hidden in the shrubbery…

I said to my soul, be still and wait without hope

But the faith and the love and the hope are all in the waiting

So the darkness shall be the light, and the stillness the